negative psychotherapy: first principle

I’m just cross-posting everything everywhere whilst spinning my 6am washed out brain with all kind of problems with truth. I am first and foremost about the question “how and why do we cope?” but I’m also drawn to debates on truth between scientific realism and instrumentalism. In this post I’m wearing the sardonic guise of an uncomfortable fit between these epistemic frames. So here is a thing about using nihilism as a way of coping with nihilism.

synthetic zerø

Reading a debunking of psychotherapy as fabric of illusions. A misunderstanding. A glitch. Illusions are a psychotherapeutic fabric. A psychosomatic/////////cutting///////////somatic////////////////somatic///////////////soma/////////////////////a rendering of flesh wrapped warm around a wound of insubstantiality. I took the knife to my arm and sliced through to see the blood and I burned the skin with the cigarette ends so I could be sure I was there and in the first place it was about teaching a lesson and///////////////////somatic///////////////////////////somatisation<<<<<<<<<<what does this word mean?

“What should any of us say to our loved ones who ask for direction?”

not loved ones. strangers. i make my money this way. rubbing up effortless against the misery of others. who does this? chooses this? when i grow up I want to stand and watch the others collapse and  inject themselves with adulterated heroin and I want pour out their methadone and i want to measure the measures [how dilated…

View original post 803 more words

2 Comments

  1. “psychotherapy as fabric of illusions” ….I recall, our earlier exchange about the placebo effect, wherein the fabric of illusions produces tangible effects. Here’s something on placebo that I came across recently:
    http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2015/04/is-the-placebo-effect-in-your-dna/390360/?utm_source=SFFB

    It’s been demonstrated empirically that some people are more responsive to placebo than others, and that “placebo responders” tend to share other psychosocial characteristics. Now studies point to a genetic link: the COMT gene, which regulates dopamine, seems to be implicated in placebo responsiveness.

Leave a Reply

